How to automatically apply an SLA to a specific service?

What is an SLA?

An SLA (Service Level Agreement) or Service Level Contract is defined as:

A document that outlines the level of service expected between a service provider and the customer, it details the nature, quality, and scope of the service to be provided.

Purpose of an SLA

An SLA aims to measure the agreed level focusing on scheduled times of response and resolution service.

ServiceTonic has 3 types of SLA defined by ITIL:

Customer-based SLA.
Service-based SLA.
Multi-level SLA (Coexisting SLAs): Customer-based SLA o business area, Service-based SLA and Corporative SLA.

Moreover, ServiceTonic offers the Contact SLA:

 Contact-based SLA, which only applies only to a specific user who receives the service.

Whatever the SLA agreed with your customer is, you can define and manage it with ServiceTonic.

* If you do not use any SLA, do not hesitate to create one, it will help you to properly measure the levels of service delivery. This is the first step to improving and enhancing the quality index or KPIs.

What is a Service-based SLA?

It is the SLA applied to a specific service and to all the customers that use it. Usually, three different classes of Service SLA are defined:

1. Gold
2. Silver
3. Bronze

Depending on the service, customers will enjoy one of the three, being the Gold level the most restrictive and demanding in their response and resolution times.

The Bronze level, on the other hand, has the least demanding response and resolution times.

Each class can also use a different schedule:

1. Gold  schedule 24×7
2. Silver 16×7 (16 hours every day)
3. Bronze 10×5 (10 hours Monday to Friday)

When attending requests based on service-level agreements that use the Gold, Silver and Bronze classification, the Gold class will be prioritized over the Silver or Bronze requests.

The designation of these classes can be adapted to the terminology of your company (for example Premium, Platinum and Standard)

Service-based SLA Example

Imagine that your company provides various IT support services, such as mail service, intranet, IP telephony, VPN, etc.

For all customers using a particular service the SLA will be unique.

Therefore, you decide the level of each service using the gold class for the most critical and essential servicessilver for important services and bronze for the less critical or less affected.

Gold – Mail, IP telephony and corporate web
Silver – Analog Telephony, VPN
Bronze – Intranet

Use the Service-based SLA is simple and convenient, as we only need to distinguish three levels.

To your customer it will also be very clear that the time of resolution is defined according to the service. For example, they will be aware that if the mail fails, it will be the first to solve by the IT team, while if the intranet fails it will take a little longer.

With ServiceTonic Help Desk Software you can reach the level of detail that you and your customers need.

The adaptability of ServiceTonic lets you:

Define as many SLAs as you need.
Assign a schedule to your SLA, even multiple schedules.
Apply them to a customer, service or based on any criteria you need.
Apply it to a specific user or contact.
SLAs that account until the end of the day

How to apply?

Once you know the needs of your customer, you can define the SLA in:

Administration → ServiceDesk → Service Levels

In order to set a Service-based SLA Gold, Silver, Bronze, look at the following sample picture:

Depending on the affected service, SLA applies automatically.

Use the magnifying glass icon to view the SLA features:

Share This